So Awesome It Makes You Wanna Cry

D.M.C. Devil May Cry Review

So I played and beat the newest installment in the Devil May Cry Series.

DMC is pretty much a prequel to the other games in the series. You play as young Dante and learn about he and his brother Virgil’s origin. All while fighting demons of course lol. The action is fast paced and fun as an action game such as DMC should be, enemies are plentiful and are a good challenge overall (I played the game on Normal), and the dialogue and voice acting was very well done. Now I know at first some hated what they had done with Dante’s look, but  trust me it goes perfectly with Dante and his attitude. Plus remember that he is younger Dante and not his adult version that we’ve all come to know, but regardless his personality still screams of Dante lol.

Character design was done well and their voice actors and actresses really brought them to life. I especially loved our leading lady Kat. She had a different kind of aura that made me care about her. Her back story was interesting as it tied into her getting involved with the whole plot of the story. Vergil was a cool character as well. I won’t say too much as not to spoil things, but his change of personality, and main goal through the game was well done. The main bosses in the game were unique in their own ways and their personalities demonic and arrogant which made the cool. Well that is until I beat the shit out of them lol. Setting and music also added greatness to the fights all throughout the game. Yes, the music in DMC was excellent. So good in fact that I had to get the soundtrack to it.

The controls and combos were easy enough to get down, and there were quite a few weapons to choose from. The only thing that was really annoying to me was the fact that you had to manually switch to the weapon when you wanted to use it during combat. This may not sound like a big deal, but when I’m fighting something I don’t want to have to stop real quick to switch the weapon and then continue with said weapon. Pretty much I felt as if the combos should have lead into using another weapon automatically if needed for an enemy. This doesn’t really make the combat any slower or lessens the experience, but rather a preference of mine. I did however find myself only using certain weapons as they were the most effective for my tastes in battle.

As for my score of the game I would have to say I give it an 8 out of 10. A loss of a few points because of the whole weapon switching. In case you were wondering the length of the game is perfect. Not too short, and not too long. You can beat the game in few hours if you just sit there and play it though. I beat the game in 3 days yet I’m sure my total hours played didn’t amount to even over 15 hours.

I was skeptical about the game when it was first announced, but after experiencing it first hand I can say that they did a pretty good job on “rebooting” the series as they said.

Leave a Reply

